Site News - 2017

No updates August through December.

July Update:  Didn’t actually put anything on the site this month, BUT I was working with this site in mind (see Found! Below). 

 

Still Painful:  There have been some moments – and it’s good to see what Aaron Nola has done this season, and Aaron Altherr has been solid.  Maybe we’re starting to see the foundation being put in place?

 

Media Update:  Nothing to report this month.  If you see a source for the 1980 Phillies, please let me know, and I will see about adding it to the archive.

 

Digital Pictures Needed: I’d still love pictures of the 1980 season If you have something (for free – I’m poor and this is a non-profit site!), please let me know through the contact section.

 

FOUND!  I have found a treasure trove of newspaper articles from the 1980 season.  It will take me years to get through what I have been able to find, thanks to newspapers.com.  I have found articles from the Inquirer and Daily News, as well as newspapers from Wilmington and Allentown.  I am still looking for sources from the old Philadelphia Bulletin (I believe Richie Ashburn did a weekly article that season). Clippings, photocopies, whatever contains part of the story of the 1980 Phillies is appreciated. 

 

Future Updates:   Still sporadic, but I am going to try to get back into the monthly updates, even if it is minimal.  Please be patient and enjoy the archive!  

June Update:  Managed a few articles from the Chicago Tribune.  Having older kids does NOT give a guy any more time! 

 

Painful:  Where, oh where have the little wins gone… oh where, oh where can they be?  It’s been a rough road this season for Phils fans.  Hopefully those minor leaguers can blossom into the next Red Wave.

 

Media Update:  Nothing to report this month.

 

Digital Pictures Needed: I’d still love pictures of the 1980 season If you have something (for free – I’m poor and this is a non-profit site!), please let me know through the contact section.

 

FOUND!  I am still looking for any and all articles from the 1980 season to include in the website.  In particular, I seek the Philadelphia papers, which I have very limited access to. Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News or other area newspapers please contact me – digital scans are fine by me (and in fact are preferable, as I don’t get in trouble with the wife for cluttering up the house!). Clippings, photocopies, whatever contains part of the story of the 1980 Phillies is acceptable.  I am also looking for any YouTube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos. 

 

Future Updates:   Will come as I can get to them.  For now, it may be sporadic, but I am going to try to get back into the monthy updates, even if it is minimal.  Please be patient and enjoy the archive!  

May Update:  The Phils’ struggles in 2017 makes one wistful for a summer like 1980.  Added in a few spring training articles from March of 1980 from the Reading Eagle. 

 

Howard Done?  The news of Ryan Howard’s release from the Atlanta Braves organization may put a final nail in the coffin of a once-promising career.  We remember what the Big Piece meant to the Phils’ second world championship in 2008.

 

Media Update:  Nothing to report this month.

 

Digital Pictures Needed: I’d still love pictures of the 1980 season If you have something (for free – I’m poor and this is a non-profit site!), please let me know through the contact section.

 

Wanted: I am still looking for any and all articles from the 1980 season to include in the website.  In particular, I seek the Philadelphia papers, which I have very limited access to. Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News or other area newspapers please contact me – digital scans are fine by me (and in fact are preferable, as I don’t get in trouble with the wife for cluttering up the house!). Clippings, photocopies, whatever contains part of the story of the 1980 Phillies is acceptable.  I am also looking for any YouTube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos. 

 

Future Updates:   Will come as I can get to them.  For now, it may be sporadic, but I am going to try to get back into the monthy updates, even if it is minimal.  Please be patient and enjoy the archive!  

April Update:  Just days after the passing of 1980 Phillies Manager Dallas Green, the World Champions lost another member, as long-time Phillie Ruben Amaro died on March 31.  RIP Mr. Amaro, and my condolences to the Amaro family and the Phillies organization.

 

Play Ball:  Nothing quite denotes the coming of spring as the arrival of baseball!  The Phils started the regular season with a win, but have been up and down since then.  They may be up, they may be down, but we’ll always be Phillies fans.  It’s a family curse!

 

Media Update:  Nothing to report this month.

 

Digital Pictures Needed: I’d still love pictures of the 1980 season If you have something (for free – I’m poor and this is a non-profit site!), please let me know through the contact section.

 

Wanted: I am still looking for any and all articles from the 1980 season to include in the website.  In particular, I seek the Philadelphia papers, which I have very limited access to. Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News or other area newspapers please contact me – digital scans are fine by me (and in fact are preferable, as I don’t get in trouble with the wife for cluttering up the house!). Clippings, photocopies, whatever contains part of the story of the 1980 Phillies is acceptable.  I am also looking for any YouTube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos. 

 

Future Updates:   Will come as I can get to them.  For now, it may be sporadic, but I am going to try to get back into the monthly updates, even if it is minimal.  Please be patient and enjoy the archive!  

March Update:  I know it’s been months.  But I cannot allow the death of Dallas Green go by without acknowledgement.  RIP Mr. Green, and thank you for all you’ve meant to the Phillies over the course of your life.

 

Are You Ready:  Spring Training has arrived!  I know the Phils will more than likely struggle once more, but it’s still exciting to think about a new season.  Sun.  Warmth.  Baseball.  All is right with the world again.

 

Media Update:  Found a few clips of Dallas Green.  There’s not nearly enough on YouTube.

 

Digital Pictures Needed: I’d still love pictures of the 1980 season If you have something (for free – I’m poor and this is a non-profit site!), please let me know through the contact section.

 

Wanted: I am still looking for any and all articles from the 1980 season to include in the website.  In particular, I seek the Philadelphia papers, which I have very limited access to. Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News or other area newspapers please contact me – digital scans are fine by me (and in fact are preferable, as I don’t get in trouble with the wife for cluttering up the house!). Clippings, photocopies, whatever contains part of the story of the 1980 Phillies is acceptable.  I am also looking for any YouTube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos. 

 

Future Updates:   Will come as I can get to them.  For now, it may be sporadic, but I am going to try to get back into the monthy updates, even if it is minimal.  Please be patient and enjoy the archive!  

No updates January or February.