Site News - 2016

No updates August through December.

July Update:  And life indeed goes on.  Family trips and the fun fun fun of summer conspired to prevent a major update this month.  Life is just too busy!  I did manage to transcribe articles from the Chicago Tribune from June 7-9, corresponding to the Phils’ games with the Cubs.

 

And there they go:  So much for that decent start.  The Phils have reverted to recent form, inflicting a nine-game losing streak on their long-suffering fans.  They still have a long way to go!  At least the young pitchers look somewhat promising, but there is a dreadful need for bats.

 

Media Update:  For now, this part of the site is still going to have to rest in peace.  If time allows, maybe I can add some sound clips, or find some YouTube videos that pertain to the 1980 Phils… or something?

 

Digital Pictures Needed: I’d still love pictures of the 1980 season If you have something (for free – I’m poor and this is a non-profit site!), please let me know through the contact section.

 

Wanted: I am still looking for any and all articles from the 1980 season to include in the website.  In particular, I seek the Philadelphia papers, which I have very limited access to. Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News or other area newspapers please contact me – digital scans are fine by me (and in fact are preferable, as I don’t get in trouble with the wife for cluttering up the house!). Clippings, photocopies, whatever contains part of the story of the 1980 Phillies is acceptable.  I am also looking for any YouTube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos. 

 

Future Updates:   Will come as I can get to them.  For now, it may be sporadic, but I am going to try to get back into the monthly updates, even if it is minimal.  Please be patient and enjoy the archive!  

June Update:  Back-to-back months with updates... maybe not a huge feat, but it does feel good to get back in some sort of routine after not being able to update for so long.  This month I found some articles from the Chicago Tribune about games 4 and 5 of the NLCS.  Since the Tribune used their own writers for coverage, it gives an additional point of view of the series rather than just reworded articles from the AP.

 

Stumbling:  The Phils have surely struggled since the last update, when they were hanging within sight of first place.  Currently the team finds itself settled into fourth place.  It seems unlikely that the Phils can free-fall to the depths of the Braves, but more than likely they will wind up much closer to the Braves than the Nationals when the season is over.

 

Media Update:  I did find a YouTube clip from the Phils-Montreal game of September 28, 1980 and connect it to the game summary page.  Unfortunately, the Phils lost that game big to the Expos, putting themselves a game behind with a week to go.  And what a week that turned out to be!

 

Digital Pictures Needed: I’d still love pictures of the 1980 season If you have something (for free – I’m poor and this is a non-profit site!), please let me know through the contact section.

 

Wanted: I am still looking for any and all articles from the 1980 season to include in the website.  In particular, I seek the Philadelphia papers, which I have very limited access to. Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News or other area newspapers please contact me – digital scans are fine by me (and in fact are preferable, as I don’t get in trouble with the wife for cluttering up the house!). Clippings, photocopies, whatever contains part of the story of the 1980 Phillies is acceptable.  I am also looking for any YouTube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos. 

 

Future Updates:   I'm looking at finishing out the NLCS with the Chicago Tribune articles - as stated before, they give an additional perspective to the games.  Maybe I'll move on to the World Series articles as well as time permits.

May Update:  Helloooooooooooooo!  I know it’s been a very long time since I last updated the site.  I will in no way be able to claim to even come close to the site goals this year… or last year.  I can’t even claim to be fully back this month, but I did manage to put a few articles from spring training (from the Doylestown Intelligencer) and May 31-June 2 from the Chicago Tribune, covering the Phils’ series against the Cubs.

 

Not as bad as feared…?:  The Phils have gotten off to a surprisingly good start this season.  Not only because of expectations, but also the “advanced numbers” don’t quite match up to the win-loss success.  There is some hope seen in the pitching staff, but the bats need to improve drastically if the Phils are to be a true contender in the near future.  Probably not this year, but there is some hope for a brighter future!

 

Media Update:  For now, this part of the site is still going to have to rest in peace.  If time allows, maybe I can add some sound clips, or find some YouTube videos that pertain to the 1980 Phils… or something?

 

Digital Pictures Needed: I’d still love pictures of the 1980 season If you have something (for free – I’m poor and this is a non-profit site!), please let me know through the contact section.

 

Wanted: I am still looking for any and all articles from the 1980 season to include in the website.  In particular, I seek the Philadelphia papers, which I have very limited access to. Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News or other area newspapers please contact me – digital scans are fine by me (and in fact are preferable, as I don’t get in trouble with the wife for cluttering up the house!). Clippings, photocopies, whatever contains part of the story of the 1980 Phillies is acceptable.  I am also looking for any YouTube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos. 

 

Future Updates:   Will come as I can get to them.  For now, it may be sporadic, but I am going to try to get back into the monthly updates, even if it is minimal.  Please be patient and enjoy the archive!  

No updates January through April.