Site News - 2013

December Update:  I got more done in the past two days than in the rest of the month of November on the website… thank goodness for Thanksgiving Break!  I managed to not only reach my goal of five articles and two media clips, but I was also able to get a bit of extra of each on site as well.  I am still working mainly through digital copies of the Reading Eagle from May of 1980 right now, desiring to add some news articles from the early part of the season.  I also added a few game pictures as well as I was going through each game’s articles.

 

Welcome Back:  It has been an offseason of homecoming for the Fightins.  Larry Bowa returned to his first baseball home as a coach for manager Ryne Sandberg.  Outfielder Marlon Byrd returned to the scene of his major league debut as well.  And Carlos Ruiz decided to skip the step of actually leaving, signing a free agent contract to remain with his only major league team.

 

Media Update:  I met my monthly goal of adding two sound clips from The Phantastic Phillies record to YouTube, and linking it to the site. I also added an extra two on top of the goal.  The four clips include highlights from the 5-1 Phillies victory over the New York Mets on September 11, 1980.

 

Digital Pictures Needed: I’d still love pictures of the 1980 season If you have something (for free – I’m poor and this is a non-profit site!), please let me know through the contact section.

 

Wanted: I am still looking for any and all articles from the 1980 season to include in the website.  In particular, I seek the Philadelphia papers, which I have very limited access to. Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News or other area newspapers please contact me – digital scans are fine by me (and in fact are preferable, as I don’t get in trouble with the wife for cluttering up the house!). Clipping, photocopies, whatever contains part of the story of the 1980 Phillies is acceptable.  I am also looking for any YouTube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos.

 

Future Updates:  My goal for the rest of the year is to add five articles and two media clips per month.  I will also add game pictures as I find them, and may include clipped images of the newspapers from games as they are available.

November Update:  I did better than I thought I would in October, especially when the month proved to be even busier than I had imagined.  I did manage a few hours of work on the site, which means that I did reach my goal of five articles and two media clips for the month – I even add an extra of each this month!  I am still working mainly through digital copies of the Reading Eagle from May of 1980 right now, desiring to add some news articles from the early part of the season.  I also added a few game pictures as well.

 

Coaching Changes…?:  It was thought that the Phils would make a change when Wally Joyner announced he was not coming back as the assistant hitting coach.  Then… surprise!  Joyner decided to re-up with the Phils again after all.  Pete Mackanin will return to the Phils as third base coach, and Jesus Tiamo will be the new bullpen coach, joining a staff that includes the re-hire of Larry Bowa and the return of Steve Henderson and Juan Samuel along with Joyner.

 

Media Update:  I managed to meet my goals of adding two sound clips from The Phantastic Phillies record to YouTube, and linking it to the site. I even added a third for good measure!  The three clips include highlights from September of 1980, and a brief interview segment between Harry Kalas and rookie pitcher Marty Bystrom following his first major league win on September 10.

 

Digital Pictures Needed: I’d still love pictures of the 1980 season If you have something (for free – I’m poor and this is a non-profit site!), please let me know through the contact section.

 

Wanted: I am still looking for any and all articles from the 1980 season to include in the website.  In particular, I seek the Philadelphia papers, which I have very limited access to. Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News or other area newspapers please contact me – digital scans are fine by me (and in fact are preferable, as I don’t get in trouble with the wife for cluttering up the house!). I am also looking for any YouTube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos.

 

Future Updates:  My goal for the rest of the year is to add five articles and two media clips per month.  I will also add game pictures as I find them, and may include clipped images of the newspapers from games as they are available.

October Update: I’m still barging my way through old Reading Eagle articles, working my way backwards through the month of May.  I managed to meet my goals for the last month, but may struggle to do so with the current month, as work and family responsibilities are leaving little time for my… hobby.  While working through these older articles, I am also looking to add more pictures to the earlier games.  When I went through the first time, I only added one picture to many of the early games in a hurry to make sure that all games I could find a picture for was represented.

 

The More Things Change:  Ryne Sandberg was named the permanent manager of the Phillies after the close of the season.  He has brought on board a new right-hand man… in the person of Larry Bowa!  It will be good to see this connection to the 1980 team back with the organization.  The Phils will be looking for a new pitching coach in the coming weeks.

 

Media Update:  I managed to meet my goals of adding two sound clips from The Phantastic Phillies record to YouTube, and linking it to the site. 

 

Digital Pictures Needed: I’d still love pictures of the 1980 season If you have something (for free – I’m poor and this is a non-profit site!), please let me know through the contact section.

 

Wanted: I am still looking for any and all articles from the 1980 season to include in the website.  In particular, I seek the Philadelphia papers, which I have very limited access to. Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News or other area newspapers please contact me – digital scans are fine by me (and in fact are preferable, as I don’t get in trouble with the wife for cluttering up the house!). I am also looking for any YouTube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos.

 

Future Updates: I was able meet my monthly goal for September, but October is presenting more of a challenge.  My goal for the rest of the year is to add five articles and two media clips per month.  I will also add game pictures as I find them, and may include clipped images of the newspapers from games as they are available.

September Update: I managed to get into a groove for a few days this month, and added both clips and articles to the website.  I now have added all the Reading Eagle articles I have for the month of June (there are about 10 days missing in the googlenews archives).  I also added several audio clips (courtesty of The Phantastic Phillies highlight record) and found a YouTube video on the 1980 team (see Media Update below)

 

Mired in Mediocrity:  Since the disastrous few weeks after the all-star break, the Phils have resumed their win again, lose again pattern of the 2013 season leading up to the midsummer break.  The playoffs are a no-go, and it’s time to see what kids may help out in the coming seasons.

 

Media Update:  I found the 1980 Phillies highlight film on YouTube (courtesy of TelRaSports) and have posted it on the multimedia page.  I also added sound clips from several games in July, August and September – I believe five in total.

 

Digital Pictures Needed: I’d still love pictures of the 1980 season If you have something (for free – I’m poor and this is a non-profit site!), please let me know through the contact section.

 

Wanted: I am still looking for any and all articles from the 1980 season to include in the website.  In particular, I seek the Philadelphia papers, which I have very limited access to. Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News or other area newspapers please contact me – digital scans are fine by me (and in fact are preferable, as I don’t get in trouble with the wife for cluttering up the house!). I am also looking for any YouTube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos.

 

Future Updates: I was able meet my monthly goal for August, and made up for not making the July goal as well, at least on average putting me back on track.  My goal for the rest of the year is to add five articles and two media clips per month.  I will also add game pictures as I find them, and may include clipped images of the newspapers from games as they are available.

August Update: And… school is back in session!  And thus goes any time for the website in the short term.  I was able to add a few sounds clips, but that was about the extent of the updates this month.  Time just slipped into the future too quickly.

 

Dive Bombing:  It’s been a post-All-Star game catastrophe for the Phils.  A second-half slide, punctuated by a long losing streak, has mired the team in fourth place in the division and ended any pipe dream of contending for a spot in the playoffs.

 

Media Update:  I have figured out the process I will take to create some YouTube audio clips from the Phantastic Phillies record, so hopefully that will come more regularly.  Of course, I am also looking for other YouTube videos, as well as other sources to include.

 

Digital Pictures Needed: I’d still love pictures of the 1980 season If you have something (for free – I’m poor and this is a non-profit site!), please let me know through the contact section.

 

Wanted: I am still looking for any and all articles from the 1980 season to include in the website.  In particular, I seek the Philadelphia papers, which I have very limited access to. Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News or other area newspapers please contact me – digital scans are fine by me (and in fact are preferable, as I don’t get in trouble with the wife for cluttering up the house!). I am also looking for any YouTube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos.

 

Future Updates: I was unable meet my monthly goal for July, as time was just too fleeting.  My goal for the rest of the year is to add five articles and two media clips per month.  I will also add game pictures as I find them, and may include clipped images of the newspapers from games as they are available.

July Update: A couple of family trips interrupted the “extra time” to work on the site.  However, I was able to use some of my paper sources to add some World Series articles to the site.  I added articles from the Philadelphia Daily News (Oct. 23), the Philadelphia Journal (Oct. 28) and the Camden Courier-Post (also Oct. 28).  I also added a few new clips from The Phantastic Phillies through YouTube.  The two added this month were from the June 30 game against the Montreal Expos. 

 

Phillies All-Stars:  Congratulations to Domonic Brown for making his first All-Star Team.  Brown had taken a hot month in June to create a nice first full season as a starter for the Phils.  Pitcher Cliff Lee is the other representative from the Phillies.

 

Media Update:  I have figured out the process I will take to create some YouTube audio clips from the Phantastic Phillies record, so hopefully that will come more regularly.  Of course, I am also looking for other YouTube videos, as well as other sources to include.

 

Digital Pictures Needed: I’d still love pictures of the 1980 season If you have something (for free – I’m poor and this is a non-profit site!), please let me know through the contact section.

 

Wanted: I am still looking for any and all articles from the 1980 season to include in the website.  In particular, I seek the Philadelphia papers, which I have very limited access to. Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News or other area newspapers please contact me – digital scans are fine by me (and in fact are preferable, as I don’t get in trouble with the wife for cluttering up the house!). I am also looking for any YouTube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos.

 

Future Updates: I was able meet my monthly goal for June!  As stated before, my goal for the rest of the year is to add five articles and two media clips per month.  I will also add game pictures as I find them, and may include clipped images of the newspapers from games as they are available.

June Update: Finally got a few minutes to rub together!  I started to dig through some of my paper archives, putting in a bunch of articles from the October 23, 1980 issue of the Philadelphia Daily News.  I also began working with isolating some clips from The Phantastic Phillies and uploading them with pictures to create YouTube videos.  I have one clip from the June 18, 1980 game against the Padres, and two clips from the June 22, 1980 game against the Giants.  I also put in an interview clip between Harry Kalas and Mike Schmidt from that second game.

 

Media Update:  I have figured out the process I will take to create some YouTube audio clips from the Phantastic Phillies record, so hopefully that will come more regularly (notice the four I was able to put in this month!).  Of course, I am also looking for other YouTube videos, as well as other sources to include.

 

Digital Pictures Needed: I’d still love pictures of the 1980 season If you have something (for free – I’m poor and this is a non-profit site!), please let me know through the contact section.

 

Wanted: I am still looking for any and all articles from the 1980 season to include in the website.  In particular, I seek the Philadelphia papers, which I have very limited access to. Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News or other area newspapers please contact me – digital scans are fine by me (and in fact are preferable, as I don’t get in trouble with the wife for cluttering up the house!). I am also looking for any YouTube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos.

 

Future Updates: I was able meet my monthly goal for May!  As stated before, my goal for the rest of the year is to add five articles and two media clips per month.  I will also add game pictures as I find them, and may include clipped images of the newspapers from games as they are available.

May Update: Life keeps on rolling like a freight train!  I managed to get some articles on the website – mostly thanks to Sports Illustrated’s Vault.  Unfortunately, I have not been able to add any clips – time has been in short supply lately.  Other than the detour with SI, I am still working on June, 1980 articles from the Reading Eagle. However, I did find a YouTube video of the entire broadcast of Game 6 of the World Series, and I have added that to the boxscore page for that game.

 

Media Update: As time allows, I continue to work on uploading some clips from the NLCS and other parts of the 1980 season.  Since I have a digital file of the Phantastic Phillies record, there may be possibilities there as well.  I am also still periodically checking YouTube for other clips to add as well. If you have any (or know of any) that I can use for the website, contact me.

 

Digital Pictures Needed: I’d still love pictures of the 1980 season If you have something (for free – I’m poor and this is a non-profit site!), please let me know through the contact section.

 

Wanted: I am still looking for any and all articles from the 1980 season to include in the website.  In particular, I seek the Philadelphia papers, which I have very limited access to. Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News please contact me – scans are fine by me. I am also looking for any YouTube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos.

 

Future Updates: With pictures added for nearly all games (in a few cases I had to resort to “stock” photos), I am shifting my focus on adding articles and media clips.  My goal for the year is to add five articles and two media clips per month.

 

April Update: I keep plugging along.  Things were a bit slow this month, and probably will be through the end of May.  Just too many responsibilities with the coming of the end of the school year and all the events and testing that go along with that!  There are a few more articles on the website, and a clip or two have been added as well.  I am currently working on June, 1980 articles from the Reading Eagle.

 

Media Update: Still working on getting some clips from the NLCS and other parts of the 1980 season.  Since I have a digital file of the Phantistic Phillies record, there may be possibilities there as well.  I am also still periodically checking YouTube for other clips to add as well. 

 

Digital Pictures Needed: I’d still love pictures of the 1980 season If you have something (for free – I’m poor and this is a non-profit site!), please let me know through the contact section.

 

Dwindling Reserves of Internet News Articles: My access to newspaper articles has been limited in recent months. I let my subscription to newspaperarchives.com lapse, as they had reduced the number of articles available from that time period. Additionally, Google has decided to abandon their foray into their news archives service. I still have some access to materials that I downloaded before these changes, but these sources will dry up pretty quickly once I begin to work with them. The three main sources I have from these leftovers are three newspapers: the Doylestown Daily Intelligencer, the Reading Eagle and the Gettysburg Times.

 

Wanted: I am still looking for any and all articles from the 1980 season – particularly from the Philadelphia papers which I have very limited access to. Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News please contact me – scans are fine by me. I am also looking for any YouTube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos.

 

Future Updates: I am continuing to add newspaper photos (of varying quality) to try to add some kick to the boxscore pages. I am working backwards through the season – right now I am doing the games from August. I am also continuing the effort to add multimedia to various pages when access and time allow.

 

March Update: Made my self-imposed “goal” this month – I managed to add a couple of clips from the 1980 NLCS, particularly from the infamous triple-no-double-play from Game 4.  I’ve also managed to finish the articles from the Reading Eagle from July of 1980.  This will continue to be very busy, including some traveling this month, so I cannot promise this relatively torrid pace will continue, but I shall give it a good effort!

Media Update: I have added a few sound clips from the NLCS, and will strive to continue adding more.  I am also still periodically checking YouTube for other clips to add as well. 

Digital Pictures Needed: I’d still love pictures of the 1980 season If you have something (for free – I’m poor and this is a non-profit site!), please let me know through the contact section.

Dwindling Reserves of Internet News Articles: My access to newspaper articles has been limited in recent months. I let my subscription to newspaperarchives.com lapse, as they had reduced the number of articles available from that time period. Additionally, Google has decided to abandon their foray into their news archives service. I still have some access to materials that I downloaded before these changes, but these sources will dry up pretty quickly once I begin to work with them. The three main sources I have from these leftovers are three newspapers: the Doylestown Daily Intelligencer, the Reading Eagle and the Gettysburg Times.

Wanted: I am still looking for any and all articles from the 1980 season – particularly from the Philadelphia papers which I have very limited access to. Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News please contact me – scans are fine by me. I am also looking for any YouTube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos.

Future Updates: I am continuing to add newspaper photos (of varying quality) to try to add some kick to the boxscore pages. I am working backwards through the season – right now I am doing the games from August. I am also continuing the effort to add multimedia to various pages when access and time allow.

February Update: Groundhog day has come and went – and the early spring promised by Punxsutawney Phil was rudely interrupted by a major snowstorm. But spring – and more importantly baseball – is just around the corner! I think I managed to make my goal of at least five articles being added to the database, but work and family commitments didn’t give me the extended time to concentrate on the media clips. I’ll try to do better this month!

Media Update: There are video clips available on the Multimedia page, as well as some video and audio (attached to YouTube) clips available on some boxscore pages. I am long-range planning on uploading clips as I can create them. What I have will mostly be sound clips that I will attach to a picture and put on YouTube.

Digital Pictures Needed: I’d still love pictures of the 1980 season If you have something (for free – I’m poor and this is a non-profit site!), please let me know through the contact section.

Dwindling Reserves of Internet News Articles: My access to newspaper articles has been limited in recent months. I let my subscription to newspaperarchives.com lapse, as they had reduced the number of articles available from that time period. Additionally, Google has decided to abandon their foray into their news archives service. I still have some access to materials that I downloaded before these changes, but these sources will dry up pretty quickly once I begin to work with them. The three main sources I have from these leftovers are three newspapers: the Doylestown Daily Intelligencer, the Reading Eagle and the Gettysburg Times.

Wanted: I am still looking for any and all articles from the 1980 season – particularly from the Philadelphia papers which I have very limited access to. Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News please contact me – scans are fine by me. I am also looking for any YouTube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos.

Future Updates: I am continuing to add newspaper photos (of varying quality) to try to add some kick to the boxscore pages. I am working backwards through the season – right now I am doing the games from August. I am also continuing the effort to add multimedia to various pages when access and time allow.

January Update:  Happy New Year!  I’m not much for making New Year’s resolutions, but one of my goals for 2013 is to get some more traction in adding articles and media clips to the site.  I will also continue to look for more (and better) pictures to add to the various game pages.  I’d like to add at least five articles and 1-2 media clips to the website per month.

Media Update:  I’m still behind in creating clips for posting on YouTube.  You can peruse many clips currently available on the Multimedia page. I am long-range planning on uploading clips as I can create them. What I have will mostly be sound clips that I will attach to a picture and put on YouTube.

Digital Pictures Needed: I’d still love pictures of the 1980 season If you have something (for free – I’m poor and this is a non-profit site!), please let me know through the contact section.

Dwindling Reserves of Internet News Articles: My access to newspaper articles has been limited in recent months. I let my subscription to newspaperarchives.com lapse, as they had reduced the number of articles available from that time period. Additionally, Google has decided to abandon their foray into their news archives service. I still have some access to materials that I downloaded before these changes, but these sources will dry up pretty quickly once I begin to work with them. The three main sources I have from these leftovers are three newspapers: the Doylestown Daily Intelligencer, the Reading Eagle and the Gettysburg Times.

Wanted: I am still looking for any and all articles from the 1980 season – particularly from the Philadelphia papers which I have very limited access to. Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News please contact me – scans are fine by me. I am also looking for any YouTube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos.

Future Updates: I am continuing to add newspaper photos (of varying quality) to try to add some kick to the boxscore pages. I am working backwards through the season – right now I am doing the games from August. I am also continuing the effort to add multimedia to various pages when access and time allow.