Site News - 2012

December Update: Happy Holidays!  I hope that everyone has a most blessed season, no matter which holidays you celebrate.  For our family, Christmas is a most joyous time of year.  It is also one of the busiest!    I must admit that nothing much of significance was accomplished on the website for this update. Too many work, holiday and family commitments this month.  An article or two were posted, but that is about it.

Media Update:  I’m still behind in creating clips for posting on YouTube.  You can peruse many clips currently available on the Multimedia page. I am long-range planning on uploading clips as I can create them. What I have will mostly be sound clips that I will attach to a picture and put on YouTube.

Digital Pictures Needed: I’d still love pictures of the 1980 season If you have something (for free – I’m poor and this is a non-profit site!), please let me know through the contact section.

Dwindling Reserves of Internet News Articles: My access to newspaper articles has been limited in recent months. I let my subscription to newspaperarchives.com lapse, as they had reduced the number of articles available from that time period. Additionally, Google has decided to abandon their foray into their news archives service. I still have some access to materials that I downloaded before these changes, but these sources will dry up pretty quickly once I begin to work with them. The three main sources I have from these leftovers are three newspapers: the Doylestown Daily Intelligencer, the Reading Eagle and the Gettysburg Times.

Wanted: I am still looking for any and all articles from the 1980 season – particularly from the Philadelphia papers which I have very limited access to. Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News please contact me – scans are fine by me. I am also looking for any YouTube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos.

Future Updates: I am continuing to add newspaper photos (of varying quality) to try to add some kick to the boxscore pages. I am working backwards through the season – right now I am doing the games from August. I am also continuing the effort to add multimedia to various pages when access and time allow.

November Update: August has finally been conquered! All available dates have been given articles from the Reading Eagle, and all games now come with some sort of picture, some games with multiple pictures. I have started working on July articles, though my one source runs a bit dry there (for some reason, the Reading Eagle is missing about 2 weeks from their archive).

Media Update: I found a clip of the Phils’ vs. Montreal game of October 4, 1980. It is the last half of the 11th inning, where Tug McGraw finishes off the Expos, and a few celebration interviews with Richie Ashburn. You can find that clip on the boxscore page. There are still lots of clips available on the Multimedia page. I am long-range planning on uploading clips as I can create them. What I have will mostly be sound clips that I will attach to a picture and put on YouTube.

Digital Pictures Needed: I’d still love pictures of the 1980 season If you have something (for free – I’m poor and this is a non-profit site!), please let me know through the contact section.

Dwindling Reserves of Internet News Articles: My access to newspaper articles has been limited in recent months. I let my subscription to newspaperarchives.com lapse, as they had reduced the number of articles available from that time period. Additionally, Google has decided to abandon their foray into their news archives service. I still have some access to materials that I downloaded before these changes, but these sources will dry up pretty quickly once I begin to work with them. The three main sources I have from these leftovers are three newspapers: the Doylestown Daily Intelligencer, the Reading Eagle and the Gettysburg Times.

Wanted: I am still looking for any and all articles from the 1980 season – particularly from the Philadelphia papers which I have very limited access to. Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News please contact me – scans are fine by me. I am also looking for any YouTube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos.

Future Updates: I am continuing to add newspaper photos (of varying quality) to try to add some kick to the boxscore pages. I am working backwards through the season – right now I am doing the games from August. I am also continuing the effort to add multimedia to various pages when access and time allow.

October Update: I am still plowing through articles and pictures for the Phillies’ games in August.  The articles are from August editions of the Reading Eagle, while pictures come from the Eagle, the Gettysburg Times and the Doylestown Daily Intelligencer.

Media Update: I did manage to create a sound clip of Bob Boone’s game-tying single in the 9th inning against Montreal on October 4, the game that would ultimately clinch the division for the Phillies.  You can find that clip on the boxscore page. There are still lots of clips available on the Multimedia page. I am long-range planning on uploading clips as I can create them. What I have will mostly be sound clips that I will attach to a picture and put on YouTube.

Digital Pictures Needed: I’d still love pictures of the 1980 season If you have something (for free – I’m poor and this is a non-profit site!), please let me know through the contact section.

Dwindling Reserves of Internet News Articles: My access to newspaper articles has been limited in recent months. I let my subscription to newspaperarchives.com lapse, as they had reduced the number of articles available from that time period. Additionally, Google has decided to abandon their foray into their news archives service. I still have some access to materials that I downloaded before these changes, but these sources will dry up pretty quickly once I begin to work with them. The three main sources I have from these leftovers are three newspapers: the Doylestown Daily Intelligencer, the Reading Eagle and the Gettysburg Times.

Wanted: I am still looking for any and all articles from the 1980 season – particularly from the Philadelphia papers which I have very limited access to. Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News please contact me – scans are fine by me. I am also looking for any YouTube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos.

Future Updates: I am continuing to add newspaper photos (of varying quality) to try to add some kick to the boxscore pages. I am working backwards through the season – right now I am doing the games from August. I am also continuing the effort to add multimedia to various pages when access and time allow. 

October Update: I am still plowing through articles and pictures for the Phillies’ games in August. The articles are from August editions of the Reading Eagle, while pictures come from the Eagle, the Gettysburg Times and the Doylestown Daily Intelligencer.

Media Update: I did manage to create a sound clip of Bob Boone’s game-tying single in the 9th inning against Montreal on October 4, the game that would ultimately clinch the division for the Phillies. You can find that clip on the boxscore page. There are still lots of clips available on the Multimedia page. I am long-range planning on uploading clips as I can create them. What I have will mostly be sound clips that I will attach to a picture and put on YouTube.

Digital Pictures Needed: I’d still love pictures of the 1980 season If you have something (for free – I’m poor and this is a non-profit site!), please let me know through the contact section.

Dwindling Reserves of Internet News Articles: My access to newspaper articles has been limited in recent months. I let my subscription to newspaperarchives.com lapse, as they had reduced the number of articles available from that time period. Additionally, Google has decided to abandon their foray into their news archives service. I still have some access to materials that I downloaded before these changes, but these sources will dry up pretty quickly once I begin to work with them. The three main sources I have from these leftovers are three newspapers: the Doylestown Daily Intelligencer, the Reading Eagle and the Gettysburg Times.

Wanted: I am still looking for any and all articles from the 1980 season – particularly from the Philadelphia papers which I have very limited access to. Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News please contact me – scans are fine by me. I am also looking for any YouTube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos.

Future Updates: I am continuing to add newspaper photos (of varying quality) to try to add some kick to the boxscore pages. I am working backwards through the season – right now I am doing the games from August. I am also continuing the effort to add multimedia to various pages when access and time allow.

September Update: Busy month, but I managed to add some articles to the site database from early August, trying to round out those important games from perhaps the lowest point of the Phils’ season.  As is normal in recent months, the articles have come from the early August editions of the Reading Eagle.   

Media Update: Precious little done on this front in September – just far too busy right not to get it right.  There are still lots of clips available on the Multimedia page.  I am long-range planning on uploading clips as I can create them.   What I have will mostly be sound clips that I will attach to a picture and put on YouTube.

Digital Pictures Needed: I’d still love pictures of the 1980 season If you have something (for free – I’m poor and this is a non-profit site!), please let me know through the contact section.

Dwindling Reserves of Internet News Articles: My access to newspaper articles has been limited in recent months. I let my subscription to newspaperarchives.com lapse, as they had reduced the number of articles available from that time period. Additionally, Google has decided to abandon their foray into their news archives service. I still have some access to materials that I downloaded before these changes, but these sources will dry up pretty quickly once I begin to work with them. The three main sources I have from these leftovers are three newspapers: the Doylestown Daily Intelligencer, the Reading Eagle and the Gettysburg Times.

Wanted: I am still looking for any and all articles from the 1980 season – particularly from the Philadelphia papers which I have very limited access to. Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News please contact me – scans are fine by me. I am also looking for any YouTube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos.

Future Updates: I am continuing to add newspaper photos (of varying quality) to try to add some kick to the boxscore pages. I am working backwards through the season – right now I am doing the games from August. I am also continuing the effort to add multimedia to various pages when access and time allow.

August Update: School. Tropical Storms. Life. All these things get in the way of enjoying a hobby! I am continuing to plug away at adding newspaper photos to each game on the schedule. Right now I am working on the games from August of 1980, and am about half way done. I also added a couple of videos – one of Mike Schmidt’s 500th homer (on his page) and one of the final out (with Tug McGraw) on the World Series Game Six page.

Media Update: The sacrifice that had to be made because of events was the media – I was away from home much of the time and had no access. I did discover the ability to link to a few mlb.com videos, including a synopsis of the 1980 season. That video is now available on the Multimedia page. The Phils World Series song (Ain’t No Stoppin’ Us Now) is also available on the site on the Multimedia page – the pictures aren’t the greatest (and I’ll still look for better ones for a clearer video), but I wanted the song on the site after the long wait. I have also added a few videos courtesy of mlb.com.

Digital Pictures Needed: I’d still love pictures of the 1980 season If you have something (for free – I’m poor and this is a non-profit site!), please let me know through the contact section.

Dwindling Reserves of Internet News Articles: My access to newspaper articles has been limited in recent months. I let my subscription to newspaperarchives.com lapse, as they had reduced the number of articles available from that time period. Additionally, Google has decided to abandon their foray into their news archives service. I still have some access to materials that I downloaded before these changes, but these sources will dry up pretty quickly once I begin to work with them. The three main sources I have from these leftovers are three newspapers: the Doylestown Daily Intelligencer, the Reading Eagle and the Gettysburg Times.

Wanted: I am still looking for any and all articles from the 1980 season – particularly from the Philadelphia papers which I have very limited access to. Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News please contact me – scans are fine by me. I am also looking for any YouTube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos.

Future Updates: I am continuing to add newspaper photos (of varying quality) to try to add some kick to the boxscore pages. I am working backwards through the season – right now I am doing the games from August. I am also continuing the effort to add multimedia to various pages when access and time allow.

July Update: Real-life interfered once more, and I was not able to get as much done as I had hoped.  I did manage to finish the Reading Eagle articles through September, as well as put pictures on each of that month’s boxscore pages.  These are looking pretty sharp, and as soon as those last regular season games are finished for October, that will mean that all games from September 1 through the end of the season will have been completed.

Media Update: The sacrifice that had to be made because of events was the media – I was away from home much of the time and had no access.  I did discover the ability to link to a few mlb.com videos, including a synopsis of the 1980 season.  That video is now available on the Multimedia page. The Phils World Series song (Ain’t No Stoppin’ Us Now) is also available on the site on the Multimedia page – the pictures aren’t the greatest (and I’ll still look for better ones for a clearer video), but I wanted the song on the site after the long wait.

Digital Pictures Needed: I’d still love pictures of the 1980 season If you have something (for free – I’m poor and this is a non-profit site!), please let me know through the contact section.

Dwindling Reserves of Internet News Articles: My access to newspaper articles has been limited in recent months. I let my subscription to newspaperarchives.com lapse, as they had reduced the number of articles available from that time period. Additionally, Google has decided to abandon their foray into their news archives service. I still have some access to materials that I downloaded before these changes, but these sources will dry up pretty quickly once I begin to work with them. The three main sources I have from these leftovers are three newspapers: the Doylestown Daily Intelligencer, the Reading Eagle and the Gettysburg Times.

Wanted: I am still looking for any and all articles from the 1980 season – particularly from the Philadelphia papers which I have very limited access to. Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News please contact me – scans are fine by me. I am also looking for any YouTube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos.

Future Updates: Now that the September games are done, I will finish those last few October games in the regular season (sadly, there does not seem to be Reading Eagle newspapers available for that last week of the season). I am working backwards through the season. I also hope to (eventually!) continue to put sound clips (and where possible video clips) on the site.

June Update: I have continued to add more articles and newspaper pictures to the database, concentrating on the September games. I am pretty close to finishing the September games with articles from the Reading Eagle. I also cleaned up NLCS Game 5 and added an audio clip of Manny Trillo’s triple from Harry Kalas (courtesy of Youtube).

Media Update: I am still working on putting more audio clips (and as possible video clips) on the website through YouTube. The Phils World Series song (Ain’t No Stoppin’ Us Now) is also available on the site on the Multimedia page – the pictures aren’t the greatest (and I’ll still look for better ones for a clearer video), but I wanted the song on the site after the long wait.

Digital Pictures Needed: I’d still love pictures of the 1980 season If you have something (for free – I’m poor and this is a non-profit site!), please let me know through the contact section.

Dwindling Reserves of Internet News Articles: My access to newspaper articles has been limited in recent months. I let me subscription to newspaperarchives.com lapse, as they had reduced the number of articles available from that time period. Additionally, Google has decided to abandon their foray into their news archives service. I still have some access to materials that I downloaded before these changes, but these sources will dry up pretty quickly once I begin to work with them. The three main sources I have from these leftovers are three newspapers: the Doylestown Daily Intelligencer, the Reading Eagle and the Gettysburg Times.

Wanted: I am still looking for any and all articles from the 1980 season – particularly from the Philadelphia papers. Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News please contact me – scans are fine by me. I am also looking for any YouTube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos.

Future Updates: With the daily game descriptions finished, I have moved on to working on adding more articles to the site, beginning with September, along with pictures of each game where possible. I should finish the September articles for the Reading Eagle soon, and will move on to August game. I am working backwards through the season. I also hope to (eventually!) continue to put sound clips (and where possible maybe video clips) on the site.

May Update: The end of the school-year contains a jumble of activity, leaving little time to work on the website. I have been working on adding new articles from the Reading Eagle, particularly in September games. I have also been adding pictures to those September games as they are available.

Media Update: Because of concerns about copyright, and in light of MLB’s being aggressive in protecting their rights on youtube, it will more than likely be impossible to put video highlights on youtube to use on the website. I will look instead to putting some soundclips on with appropriate pictures. I would love to see the
Ain’t No Stoppin’ Us Now” song be on the website, and will work on that as soon as time allows.

Digital Pictures Needed: Maybe now that I am finally done with the day-to-day descriptions, I can finally begin working on the long-anticipated (at least by me!) work on the Phillies world series song. I am still looking for high-res digital pictures to create a video presentation to put on the website with the song “Ain’t No Stoppin’ Us Now,” which was created for the Phillies during the 1980 World Series. If you have something (for free – I’m poor!), please let me know through the contact section.

Dwindling Reserves of Internet News Articles: My access to newspaper articles has been limited in recent months. I let me subscription to newspaperarchives.com lapse, as they had reduced the number of articles available from that time period. Additionally, Google has decided to abandon their foray into their news archives service. I still have some access to materials that I downloaded before these changes, but these sources will dry up pretty quickly once I begin to work with them. The three main sources I have from these leftovers are three newspapers: the Doylestown Daily Intelligencer, the Reading Eagle and the Gettysburg Times.

Wanted: I am still looking for any and all articles from the 1980 season – particularly from the Philadelphia papers. Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News please contact me – scans are fine by me. I am also looking for any YouTube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos.

Future Updates: With the daily game descriptions finished, I have moved on to working on adding more articles to the site, beginning with September. I am hoping to finish these articles in the next month or so. I also hope to (eventually!) finish the “music video” with the Phillies version of “Ain’t No Stoppin’ Us Now” at some point to put on the site. I will also work to fill in some more newspaper articles from throughout the season.

April Update: I reached my goal of completing all the in-season day-to-day pages! They’re up and I love the vintage logos for each of the teams that the Phillies are playing on that day’s schedule.   Must give credit: the vintage logos come from Chris Cremer’s Sports Logos Page. To me, the logos help jog the brain for a trip down memory lane.

Media Update: Because of concerns about copyright, and in light of MLB’s being aggressive in protecting their rights on youtube, it will more than likely be impossible to put video highlights on youtube to use on the website. I will look instead to putting some soundclips on with appropriate pictures. I would love to see the
Ain’t No Stoppin’ Us Now” song be on the website, and will work on that as soon as time allows.

Digital Pictures Needed: Maybe now that I am finally done with the day-to-day descriptions, I can finally begin working on the long-anticipated (at least by me!) work on the Phillies world series song. I am still looking for high-res digital pictures to create a video presentation to put on the website with the song “Ain’t No Stoppin’ Us Now,” which was created for the Phillies during the 1980 World Series. If you have something (for free – I’m poor!), please let me know through the contact section.

Dwindling Reserves of Internet News Articles: My access to newspaper articles has been limited in recent months. I let me subscription to newspaperarchives.com lapse, as they had reduced the number of articles available from that time period. Additionally, Google has decided to abandon their foray into their news archives service. I still have some access to materials that I downloaded before these changes, but these sources will dry up pretty quickly once I begin to work with them. The three main sources I have from these leftovers are three newspapers: the Doylestown Daily Intelligencer, the Reading Eagle and the Gettysburg Times.

Wanted: I am still looking for any and all articles from the 1980 season – particularly from the Philadelphia papers. Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News please contact me – scans are fine by me. I am also looking for any YouTube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos.

Future Updates: The boxscores are moved to the new locations – I am trying to add daily MLB scoreboard, standings and transactions page for each date. I also hope to (eventually!) finish the “music video” with the Phillies version of “Ain’t No Stoppin’ Us Now” at some point to put on the site. I will also work to fill in some more newspaper articles from throughout the season.

March Update: Once I got the momentum, the day-to-day descriptions are moving along quite nicely. I managed to find enough time to complete all the descriptions through August, and am on pace to reach my goal of finishing the schedule by the beginning of the season in April.  I really like how they’re turning out – gives a more complete story of the season.

Media Update: Because of concerns about copyright, and in light of MLB’s being aggressive in protecting their rights on youtube, it will more than likely be impossible to put video highlights on youtube to use on the website. I will look instead to putting some soundclips on with appropriate pictures. I would love to see the
Ain’t No Stoppin’ Us Now” song be on the website, and will work on that as soon as time allows.

Digital Pictures Needed: This 1980 Phillies video seems to be becoming like a PennDOT project – never finished!  I am still looking for high-res digital pictures to create a video presentation to put on the website with the song “Ain’t No Stoppin’ Us Now,” which was created for the Phillies during the 1980 World Series. If you have something (for free – I’m poor!), please let me know through the contact section.

Dwindling Reserves of Internet News Articles: My access to newspaper articles has been limited in recent months. I let me subscription to newspaperarchives.com lapse, as they had reduced the number of articles available from that time period. Additionally, Google has decided to abandon their foray into their news archives service. I still have some access to materials that I downloaded before these changes, but these sources will dry up pretty quickly once I begin to work with them. The three main sources I have from these leftovers are three newspapers: the Doylestown Daily Intelligencer, the Reading Eagle and the Gettysburg Times.

Wanted: I am still looking for any and all articles from the 1980 season – particularly from the Philadelphia papers. Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News please contact me – scans are fine by me. I am also looking for any YouTube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos.

Future Updates: The boxscores are moved to the new locations – I am trying to add daily MLB scoreboard, standings and transactions page for each date. I also hope to (eventually!) finish the “music video” with the Phillies version of “Ain’t No Stoppin’ Us Now” at some point to put on the site. I will also work to fill in some more newspaper articles from throughout the season.

February Update: I finally found some time to work on those pesky day-to-day descriptions, and I have managed to finish through the end of July. I am hoping to finish the balance of the schedule by the beginning of baseball season in April – though that may be a pipe dream!

Media Update: Because of concerns about copyright, and in light of MLB’s being aggressive in protecting their rights on youtube, it will more than likely be impossible to put video highlights on youtube to use on the website. I will look instead to putting some soundclips on with appropriate pictures. I would love to see the
Ain’t No Stoppin’ Us Now” song be on the website, and will work on that as soon as time allows.

Still looking for digital pictures: Yes, I still want to create some kind of video for the 1980 team. I am still looking for high-res digital pictures to create a video presentation to put on the website with the song “Ain’t No Stoppin’ Us Now,” which was created for the Phillies during the 1980 World Series. If you have something (for free – I’m poor!), please let me know through the contact section.

Dwindling Reserves of Internet News Articles: My access to newspaper articles has been limited in recent months. I let me subscription to newspaperarchives.com lapse, as they had reduced the number of articles available from that time period. Additionally, Google has decided to abandon their foray into their news archives service. I still have some access to materials that I downloaded before these changes, but these sources will dry up pretty quickly once I begin to work with them. The three main sources I have from these leftovers are three newspapers: the Doylestown Daily Intelligencer, the Reading Eagle and the Gettysburg Times.

Wanted: I am still looking for any and all articles from the 1980 season – particularly from the Philadelphia papers. Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News please contact me – scans are fine by me. I am also looking for any YouTube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos.

Future Updates: The boxscores are moved to the new locations – I am trying to add daily MLB scoreboard, standings and transactions page for each date. I also hope to (eventually!) finish the “music video” with the Phillies version of “Ain’t No Stoppin’ Us Now” at some point to put on the site. I will also work to fill in some more newspaper articles from throughout the season.

RIP Andy Musser:  The Phils’ family suffered a loss this month with the passing of longtime broadcaster Andy Musser.  Musser, who called Phillies games behind Harry Kalas for a quarter of a century, passed away peacefully at his New Jersey home.  You can find a tribute article for the time being on the front page of the website, and permanently from the “Tributes” link.

 

January Update: I have to trudge out the same excuse this month:  Too busy for major work on the website (it took me nearly a week to make a proper Musser tribute article!).  Still struggling to find a few minutes to work on the site – I managed to add a few articles here and there, but mainly just held the status quo.

 

Re-adding Soundclips and Video: I did finally make one quick sound clip “video” on YouTube – one to honor my favorite call from Andy Musser:  the Mike Schmidt homerun in the 10th inning of the Phils’ game against the Montreal Expos.  You can find it on the boxscore page for that Oct. 4 game.

 

Still looking for digital pictures: Yes, I am still wanting to create some kind of video for the 1980 team. I am still looking for high-res digital pictures to create a video presentation to put on the website with the song “Ain’t No Stoppin’ Us Now,” which was created for the Phillies during the 1980 World Series. If you have something (for free – I’m poor!), please let me know through the contact section.

 

Internet News Articles: Sadly, my access to internet-based articles is shrinking! A few months ago I let my subscription to newspaperarchives.org lapse due to budgetary concerns. Recently, Google decided to end their foray into newspaper archiving. As of right now, the ones they had are still available, and I will use them as long as I possibly can. However, the archive search function has been removed, and it may be harder to find new articles.

 

Wanted: I am still looking for any and all articles from the 1980 season – particularly from the Philadelphia papers. Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News please contact me – scans are fine by me. I am also looking for any YouTube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos.

 

Future Updates: The boxscores are moved to the new locations – I am trying to add daily MLB scoreboard, standings and transactions page for each date. I also hope to (eventually!) finish the “music video” with the Phillies version of “Ain’t No Stoppin’ Us Now” at some point to put on the site.