Site News - 2010

December Update:  We’re edging so very close to the finish line with the boxscores.  September is now completed, bringing 157 of the 162 games of the regular season (along with all of the NLCS and World Series games) to the website.  I am hoping to complete the boxscores during my Christmas vacation, though much of this time will, of course, be devoted to family and holiday interests.

   

Still looking for digital pictures: I am still looking for high-res digital pictures to create a video presentation to put on the website with the song “Ain’t No Stoppin’ Us Now,” which was created for the Phillies during the 1980 World Series. If you have something (for free – I’m poor!), please let me know through the contact section.

 

Internet News Articles: Many of the articles you see on this website originate from two sources. Newspaperarchive.com is a pay site that features a large archive of newspapers from multiple cities, ranging from the 1800s to the present day. The articles that I have posted from the Doylestown Daily Intelligencer come from that site. Last month, newspaperarchive.com pulled its 1980 issues of the Daily Intelligencer, citing a request from the publisher (the site still publishes the paper dated 1977 and earlier).  A few months ago, Google created its own newspaper archive, which will give me a whole new source of new articles. The Google site features the Reading Eagle, among other newspapers.

 

Wanted: Any and all articles that pertain to the 1980 Phillies, or any players on the roster from that year. If you have some to donate/lend/sell/steal please e-mail me. Copies and scans are wonderful! I am particularly interested in getting articles during the season from the Philadelphia newspapers (unfortunately, newspaperarchive.com does not have any Philadelphia newspapers). Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News please contact me. I am also looking for any youtube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos.

 

Future Updates: With the articles from the old website successfully moved, I will be focusing on finishing the boxscores from the 1980 season. I am hoping to be able to finish the basic boxscores by the end of the Christmas, after which I will begin adding new articles and pictures to those boxscores that have not gotten any. I also hope to create a new “music video” with the Phillies version of “Ain’t No Stoppin’ Us Now” at some point to put on the site.

 

Go Phillies!

Richard Summers

November Update: Managed to add quite a bit to the site this month.  First, I was able to add the August boxscores – getting close to having all the boxscores on the site.  Second, I can finally announce that all articles from the old website have now been added to the new website.  I can’t proclaim the article section “finished,” but it is now at the point it had grown to in the last days of Geocities.  I will continue to attempt to grow the site database with my available sources, but that progress will be secondary to finishing the boxscores.

   

Still looking for digital pictures: I am still looking for high-res digital pictures to create a video presentation to put on the website with the song “Ain’t No Stoppin’ Us Now,” which was created for the Phillies during the 1980 World Series. If you have something (for free – I’m poor!), please let me know through the contact section.

 

Internet News Articles: Many of the articles you see on this website originate from two sources. Newspaperarchive.com is a pay site that features a large archive of newspapers from multiple cities, ranging from the 1800s to the present day. The articles that I have posted from the Doylestown Daily Intelligencer come from that site. A few months ago, Google created its own newspaper archive, which will give me a whole new source of new articles. The Google site features the Reading Eagle, among other newspapers.

 

Wanted: Any and all articles that pertain to the 1980 Phillies, or any players on the roster from that year. If you have some to donate/lend/sell/steal please e-mail me. Copies and scans are wonderful! I am particularly interested in getting articles during the season from the Philadelphia newspapers (unfortunately, newspaperarchive.com does not have any Philadelphia newspapers). Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News please contact me. I am also looking for any youtube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos.

 

Future Updates: With the articles from the old website successfully moved, I will be focusing on finishing the boxscores from the 1980 season.  I am hoping to be able to finish the basic boxscores by the end of the year. I also hope to create a new “music video” with the Phillies version of “Ain’t No Stoppin’ Us Now” at some point to put on the site.

 

Go Phillies!

Richard Summers

October Update: Made the decision to begin putting up the boxscores without pictures (and get the pictures for those pages later), which is making that process go much faster.  It actually takes longer to locate and format those pictures than it does to create the rest of the boxscore pages.  I have been able to (finally!) finish the July boxscores.  I also finished a few articles to include in those, keeping alive the attempt to work on both articles and boxsores. 

   

Still looking for digital pictures: I am still looking for high-res digital pictures to create a video presentation to put on the website with the song “Ain’t No Stoppin’ Us Now,” which was created for the Phillies during the 1980 World Series. If you have something (for free – I’m poor!), please let me know through the contact section.

 

Internet News Articles: Many of the articles you see on this website originate from two sources. Newspaperarchive.com is a pay site that features a large archive of newspapers from multiple cities, ranging from the 1800s to the present day. The articles that I have posted from the Doylestown Daily Intelligencer come from that site. A few months ago, Google created its own newspaper archive, which will give me a whole new source of new articles. The Google site features the Reading Eagle, among other newspapers.

 

Wanted: Any and all articles that pertain to the 1980 Phillies, or any players on the roster from that year. If you have some to donate/lend/sell/steal please e-mail me. Copies and scans are wonderful! I am particularly interested in getting articles during the season from the Philadelphia newspapers (unfortunately, newspaperarchive.com does not have any Philadelphia newspapers). Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News please contact me. I am also looking for any youtube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos.

 

Future Updates: The schedule will pick up again for me in a few weeks, so the recent trend of smaller updates will have to continue. I will more than likely continue to divide my time between adding boxscore descriptions and articles from the 1980 season. I also hope to create a new “music video” with the Phillies version of “Ain’t No Stoppin’ Us Now” at some point to put on the site.

 

Go Phillies!

Richard Summers

September Update: Very little movement on the site this month.  School, family and personal commitments are taking up nearly all of my time, leaving precious little “free” to use.  I’m hoping to put some more  time in during October and get this place cranking again!

   

Looking for digital pictures: I have mentioned a desire to create some kind of video presentation to put on the website with the song “Ain’t No Stoppin’ Us Now,” which was created for the Phillies during the 1980 World Series. One problem I have is a lack on high resolution digital pictures from the time. Most of the pictures I have are fairly low-quality scans. If you have something (for free – I’m poor!), please let me know through the contact section.

 

Internet News Articles: Many of the articles you see on this website originate from two sources. Newspaperarchive.com is a pay site that features a large archive of newspapers from multiple cities, ranging from the 1800s to the present day. The articles that I have posted from the Doylestown Daily Intelligencer come from that site. A few months ago, Google created its own newspaper archive, which will give me a whole new source of new articles. The Google site features the Reading Eagle, among other newspapers.

 

Wanted: Any and all articles that pertain to the 1980 Phillies, or any players on the roster from that year. If you have some to donate/lend/sell/steal please e-mail me. Copies and scans are wonderful! I am particularly interested in getting articles during the season from the Philadelphia newspapers (unfortunately, newspaperarchive.com does not have any Philadelphia newspapers). Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News please contact me. I am also looking for any youtube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos.

 

Future Updates: The schedule will pick up again for me in a few weeks, so the recent trend of smaller updates will have to continue. I will more than likely continue to divide my time between adding boxscore descriptions and articles from the 1980 season. I also hope to create a new “music video” with the Phillies version of “Ain’t No Stoppin’ Us Now” at some point to put on the site.

 

Go Phillies!

Richard Summers

August Update: School hit with a crunch.  Very little action on the website this month, as the beginning of school was just way too busy to devote any kind of real time.  Even transcribing articles was reduced to a passing gesture.

   

Looking for digital pictures: I have mentioned a desire to create some kind of video presentation to put on the website with the song “Ain’t No Stoppin’ Us Now,” which was created for the Phillies during the 1980 World Series. One problem I have is a lack on high resolution digital pictures from the time. Most of the pictures I have are fairly low-quality scans. If you have something (for free – I’m poor!), please let me know through the contact section.

 

Internet News Articles: Many of the articles you see on this website originate from two sources. Newspaperarchive.com is a pay site that features a large archive of newspapers from multiple cities, ranging from the 1800s to the present day. The articles that I have posted from the Doylestown Daily Intelligencer come from that site. A few months ago, Google created its own newspaper archive, which will give me a whole new source of new articles. The Google site features the Reading Eagle, among other newspapers.

 

Wanted: Any and all articles that pertain to the 1980 Phillies, or any players on the roster from that year. If you have some to donate/lend/sell/steal please e-mail me. Copies and scans are wonderful! I am particularly interested in getting articles during the season from the Philadelphia newspapers (unfortunately, newspaperarchive.com does not have any Philadelphia newspapers). Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News please contact me. I am also looking for any youtube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos.

 

Future Updates: The schedule will pick up again for me in a few weeks, so the recent trend of smaller updates will have to continue. I will more than likely continue to divide my time between adding boxscore descriptions and articles from the 1980 season. I also hope to create a new “music video” with the Phillies version of “Ain’t No Stoppin’ Us Now” at some point to put on the site.

 

Go Phillies!

Richard Summers

July Update: I finally made some headway into the boxscores… and then my computer blew up! I’m back online with a new computer, and got about half-way through the July boxscores. I also added a few articles to the database.

 

Video Clips: I found a few nice clips of the 1980 World Series on Youtube. I’ll be trying to implement them into the boxscores for the various games.

 

Looking for digital pictures: I have mentioned a desire to create some kind of video presentation to put on the website with the song “Ain’t No Stoppin’ Us Now,” which was created for the Phillies during the 1980 World Series. One problem I have is a lack on high resolution digital pictures from the time. Most of the pictures I have are fairly low-quality scans. If you have something (for free – I’m poor!), please let me know through the contact section.

 

Internet News Articles: Many of the articles you see on this website originate from two sources. Newspaperarchive.com is a pay site that features a large archive of newspapers from multiple cities, ranging from the 1800s to the present day. The articles that I have posted from the Doylestown Daily Intelligencer come from that site. A few months ago, Google created its own newspaper archive, which will give me a whole new source of new articles. The Google site features the Reading Eagle, among other newspapers.

 

Wanted: Any and all articles that pertain to the 1980 Phillies, or any players on the roster from that year. If you have some to donate/lend/sell/steal please e-mail me. Copies and scans are wonderful! I am particularly interested in getting articles during the season from the Philadelphia newspapers (unfortunately, newspaperarchive.com does not have any Philadelphia newspapers). Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News please contact me. I am also looking for any youtube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos.

 

Future Updates: The schedule will pick up again for me in a few weeks, so the recent trend of smaller updates will have to continue. I will more than likely continue to divide my time between adding boxscore descriptions and articles from the 1980 season. I also hope to create a new “music video” with the Phillies version of “Ain’t No Stoppin’ Us Now” at some point to put on the site.

 

Go Phillies!

Richard Summers

June Update: I wasn’t able to attack the boxscores this month, but I did make some progress towards adding more articles to the website. I have about 80-85% of the articles from the original Geocities website restored here. I also found a few videos on youtube that I would like to add to the World Series boxscores.

 

RSS Feed: You can find up-to-date Phillies news on the home page of the website. Right now, it looks like a hospital news release more than a baseball team!

 

Internet News Articles: Many of the articles you see on this website originate from two sources. Newspaperarchive.com is a pay site that features a large archive of newspapers from multiple cities, ranging from the 1800s to the present day. The articles that I have posted from the Doylestown Daily Intelligencer come from that site. A few months ago, Google created its own newspaper archive, which will give me a whole new source of new articles. The Google site features the Reading Eagle, among other newspapers.

 

Wanted: Any and all articles that pertain to the 1980 Phillies, or any players on the roster from that year. If you have some to donate/lend/sell/steal please e-mail me. Copies and scans are wonderful! I am particularly interested in getting articles during the season from the Philadelphia newspapers (unfortunately, newspaperarchive.com does not have any Philadelphia newspapers). Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News please contact me. I am also looking for any youtube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos.

 

Future Updates: Hopefully the pace of adding to the site can pick up a bit this month as summer means a slow-down of my job (though a growing family means I’m never completely “off” anymore!). I will more than likely continue to divide my time between adding boxscore descriptions and articles from the 1980 season. I also hope to create a new “music video” with the Phillies version of “Ain’t No Stoppin’ Us Now” at some point to put on the site.

 

Go Phillies!

Richard Summers

May Update: Unfortunately, still very little progress was made towards the website. Other than a few (and very few at that!) articles, nothing was done on the site due to other commitments. This patten is expected to continue until sometime in mid-June, when school lets out and a few more free hours appear on the horizon.  

 

RSS Feed: Check out current Phillies news on the RSS feed on the left margin of the page. The RSS feed is there throughout the website. The RSS feed helps take care of current Phils news, freeing this space to be solely about the website itself.

 

Google News Archive: I have stumbled upon a new source for old newspaper clippings from 1980 – the Google News Archive. Right now the pickings are a bit limited, but there are some sources (not all for some reason) of Phillies articles and pictures from the Reading Eagle on that website. Also, the pictures are generally nicer on this website than newspaperarchives.com, but both sites are extremely helpful (and essential) in creating this website.

 

Newspaper Archive: Many of the articles added to the website database this month come from newspaperarchive.com. This website has a large archive or newspapers from a variety of newspapers from around the world. I have found it helpful to work on this site. It is a pay site, but it does have some free features if you'd like to check it out.

 

Wanted: Any and all articles that pertain to the 1980 Phillies, or any players on the roster from that year. If you have some to donate/lend/sell/steal please e-mail me. Copies and scans are wonderful! I am particularly interested in getting articles during the season from the Philadelphia newspapers (unfortunately, newspaperarchive.com does not have any Philadelphia newspapers). Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News please contact me. I am also looking for any youtube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos.

 

Future Updates: The re-creation of the website continues, and will be for the foreseeable. I will more than likely continue to divide my time between adding boxscore descriptions and articles from the 1980 season. I also hope to create a new “music video” with the Phillies version of “Ain’t No Stoppin’ Us Now” at some point to put on the site.

 

Go Phillies!

Richard Summers

April Update: My progress came to a screeching halt this month!  Some personal issues, the Easter holiday, and a heavy workload… at work (go figure!) conspired to be my undoing.  My progress was to throw a few more articles on the website, as I can knock off one or two of them in a 10-minute stretch.  Unfortunately, no a single boxscore made it to the website this month.  Reallife (and real baseball!) intervened.

 

RSS Feed: Check out current Phillies news on the RSS feed on the left margin of the page.  The RSS feed is there throughout the website.  The RSS feed helps take care of current Phils news, freeing this space to be solely about the website itself.

 

Google News Archive:  I have stumbled upon a new source for old newspaper clippings from 1980 – the Google News Archive.  Right now the pickings are a bit limited, but there are some sources (not all for some reason) of Phillies articles and pictures from the Reading Eagle on that website.  Also, the pictures are generally nicer on this website than newspaperarchives.com, but both sites are extremely helpful (and essential) in creating this website.

 

Newspaper Archive: Many of the articles added to the website database this month come from newspaperarchive.com. This website has a large archive or newspapers from a variety of newspapers from around the world. I have found it helpful to work on this site. It is a pay site, but it does have some free features if you'd like to check it out.

 

Wanted: Any and all articles that pertain to the 1980 Phillies, or any players on the roster from that year. If you have some to donate/lend/sell/steal please e-mail me. Copies and scans are wonderful! I am particularly interested in getting articles during the season from the Philadelphia newspapers (unfortunately, newspaperarchive.com does not have any Philadelphia newspapers). Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News please contact me.  I am also looking for any youtube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos.

 

Future Updates: The re-creation of the website continues, and will be for the foreseeable.  I will more than likely continue to divide my time between adding boxscore descriptions and articles from the 1980 season.  I also hope to create a new “music video” with the Phillies version of “Ain’t No Stoppin’ Us Now” at some point to put on the site.

 

Go Phillies!

Richard Summers

March Update: I was able to keep the pace this month in putting the boxscores into the site database.  I also began to look for and put more pictures into each game description, thanks to Google News Archive.  I think it’s a nice touch to have some pictures to go with the games, and the GNA adds another Philadelpha-area source for me in the Reading Eagle.  I now have boxscores in place through June 30, but I do want to go back and see if I can find more pictures for the games already in the database.  That may have to wait until I finish the rest of the boxscores, though.  I also put in a bunch more of the old articles into the new website, and am about three-quarters of the way through the old articles.  Slowly but surely, the move is coming to fruition – the stuff is being unpacked and put into its place.

 

RSS Feed: Check out current Phillies news on the RSS feed on the left margin of the page.  The RSS feed is there throughout the website.  The RSS feed helps take care of current Phils news, freeing this space to be solely about the website itself.

 

Google News Archive:  I have stumbled upon a new source for old newspaper clippings from 1980 – the Google News Archive.  Right now the pickings are a bit limited, but there are some sources (not all for some reason) of Phillies articles and pictures from the Reading Eagle on that website.  Also, the pictures are generally nicer on this website than newspaperarchives.com, but both sites are extremely helpful (and essential) in creating this website.

 

Newspaper Archive: Many of the articles added to the website database this month come from newspaperarchive.com. This website has a large archive or newspapers from a variety of newspapers from around the world. I have found it helpful to work on this site. It is a pay site, but it does have some free features if you'd like to check it out.

 

Wanted: Any and all articles that pertain to the 1980 Phillies, or any players on the roster from that year. If you have some to donate/lend/sell/steal please e-mail me. Copies are wonderful! I am particularly interested in getting articles during the season from the Philadelphia newspapers (unfortunately, newspaperarchive.com do not have any Philadelphia newspapers). Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News please contact me.  I am also looking for any youtube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos.

 

Future Updates: We’re still playing catch-up to the old site, and will be for at least most of the spring.  I will more than likely continue to divide my time between adding boxscore descriptions and articles from the 1980 season.  I also hope to create a new “music video” with the Phillies version of “Ain’t No Stoppin’ Us Now to put on the site.

 

Go Phillies!

Richard Summers

February Update: I had a little extra time earlier this month and was able to put in a bunch of articles, as well as finish the May boxscores.  This month’s work means that I am at about 60% of the articles from the old site being up, and am making progress for the boxscores.  Putting in the old articles is mainly a cut-and-paste job, as I already had files created from the old site, though a few had editing errors (that’s what you get for free!) that I was able to catch and fix.  I don’t know if I can keep up this pace, but I am on track to enter the existing articles by June.  At that point, new articles will take much longer.  Boxscores take a bit more time, as the old website’s formatting has to be adjusted for the new site.  It’s more like a cut-and-paste to Excel, do some editing, cut and paste to Word (with extra text), edit and put in the final font, and then cut-and-paste.  Also, I am attempting to add a picture (from each game if possible, thanks to newspaperarchives.com), and that takes up more time.  We’re trucking along, though, just like the Phils the past few years.

 

RSS Feed: In case you hadn’t noticed, there is an RSS Phillies feed along the left margin of the page.  Because of the feed, which is updates much more often than my site news page, I have come to the conclusion that it is redundant for me to put “Phils news” on here.  Therefore, I’ll keep this space solely for site news, and let the RSS feed keep you up to date on our favorite team.

 

No Music:  One of the things that really attracted me to jimdo was having the ability to easily put some music on the website, as I had been able to acquire a digital copy of McFadden and Whitehead’s Phillies version of “Ain’t No Stoppin’ Us Now,” which was perfect.  Unfortunately, some differences of opinion ( and copyright law) between the US and Jimdo have caused the company to stop the service that allowed the music to be on the site to US customers.  Perhaps this summer I will be able to make a slideshow with the song and put it on Youtube, as soon as my schedule eases up!

 

Newspaper Archive: Many of the articles added to the website database this month come from newspaperarchive.com. This website has a large archive or newspapers from a variety of newspapers from around the world. I have found it helpful to work on this site. It is a pay site, but it does have some free features if you'd like to check it out.

 

Wanted: Any and all articles that pertain to the 1980 Phillies, or any players on the roster from that year. If you have some to donate/lend/sell/steal please e-mail me. Copies are wonderful! I am particularly interested in getting articles during the season from the Philadelphia newspapers (unfortunately, newspaperarchive.com do not have any Philadelphia newspapers). Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News please contact me.  I am also looking for any youtube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos.

 

Future Updates: We’re still playing catch-up to the old site, and will be for at least most of the spring.  I will more than likely continue to divide my time between adding boxscore descriptions and articles from the 1980 season.

 

Go Phillies!

Richard Summers

January Update: I was able to finish the boxscores for the World Series!  As is typical of my personality, I went into a lot more detail than I had originally planned – great fun for me, but also extremely time consuming, hence the reasoning that it took a lot longer than originally planned.  Along with the boxscores of the World Series (and NLCS) games is a photo gallery of photos (digitally clipped from newspaperarchive.org and scanned from The World Champion Phillies and the Road To Victory).  It’s the process of finding the photos on the archives that takes the most time, especially when the history teacher sees an article of interests, which only happened about every newspaper I looked at!  I also added some articles to the database.  I’m still going through the articles I had on the original database, and hopefully will have the whole original database caught up in a few months.

 

Avoiding Arbitration: The Phils added new members to their team last month, and this month was time to take care of their own.  Signing multi-year deals since the New Year are Joe Blanton (three years), Shane Victorino (three years) and Carlos Ruiz (three years – seeing a pattern?).  For all three, it means avoiding arbitration, and also giving some long term stability to the team and to the players finances.

   

Bullpen Help:  The Phillies made a move to bolster their bullpen, signing Jose Contreras to a one-year contract.  Contreras, who started 21 games for the Chicago White Sox before relieving for Colorado in the pennant drive, is likely to be a member of the Phils’ re-tooled bullpen.

 

Danys Baez!:  The Phils finalized a two-year contract with Denys Baez on January 5.  Baez, who pitched for the Orioles last year, had 41 saves for the Tampa Bay Rays in 2005.

 

Newspaper Archive: The articles added to the website database this month come from newspaperarchive.com. This website has a large archive or newspapers from a variety of newspapers from around the world. I have found it helpful to work on this site. It is a pay site, but it does have some free features if you'd like to check it out.

 

Wanted: Any and all articles that pertain to the 1980 Phillies, or any players on the roster from that year. If you have some to donate/lend/sell/steal please e-mail me. Copies are wonderful! I am particularly interested in getting articles during the season from the Philadelphia newspapers (unfortunately, newspaperarchive.com do not have any Philadelphia newspapers). Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News please contact me.  I am also looking for any youtube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos.

 

Future Updates: I’m still trying to keep up with a lot from “real life,” so updates are coming slower than I had hoped.  I will more than likely continue to divide my time between adding boxscore descriptions and articles from the 1980 season.

 

Go Phillies!

Richard Summers